Members and Working Groups

Currently there are 104 individual expert members of ESUG from 41 countries. A majority are also members of IUCN thematic groups for Sustainable Use and Livelyhoods (SULi) or Sustainable Use and Management of Ecosystems (SUME).


ESUG pursues its objectives through the Chair, Committee and Six Working Groups based on Co-ordinators who liaise with ESUG members, other IUCN Specialist Groups and other organisations interested in the relevant focal areas. The current Working Groups are: 

  • Agriculture
  • Forestry
  • Fisheries
  • Biodiversity Business
  • Wildlife Species
  • Plants and Fungi


Helping within Committee to oversee the activities of the 6 Working Groups are leaders of three cross-cutting Divisions, for: Biodiversity and Ecosystem Services, Governance, and Policy and Socio-Economics.





ESUG is governed by its members, who delegate responsibility between general meetings to an elected Chairperson, currently Dr Julie Ewald of the UK, and Committee, currently Dr Tetiana Gardashuk (Ukraine), Dr David Scallan (Belgium), Dr Zenon Tederko (Poland), Dr Viktor Šegrt (Croatia), Prof Sándor Csányi (Hungary), Dr Frank Vorhies (France) and Prof Robert Kenward (UK); Robin Sharp CB is Chair Emeritus.The Group has a part time Secretariat c/o EBCD, Rue de la Science 10, 1000-Brussels, with offices also in Japan and UK.




Effectively, the group works through projects to produce knowledge tools for conservation through sustainable use of biodiversity, either as

  1. Policy documents and instruments for governments, or
  2. Software tools, including web-portals, to distribute knowledge